Dragon Ball is a popular Japanese anime series that has captured the hearts of millions of fans worldwide.

One of the most common questions among Dragon Ball fans is how many episodes the series has.

If you’re short on time, here’s a quick answer to your question: Dragon Ball has a total of 153 episodes, and Dragon Ball Z has 291 episodes.

In this article, we’ll take a comprehensive look at the number of episodes in each Dragon Ball series, including Dragon Ball, Dragon Ball Z, Dragon Ball GT, and Dragon Ball Super.

Dragon Ball

Dragon Ball is a Japanese anime television series produced by Toei Animation. It is based on the manga of the same name by Akira Toriyama. Dragon Ball is an action-packed series that follows the adventures of Son Goku and his friends as they search for the seven Dragon Balls. The series has garnered a huge following around the world since it first aired in 1986.

Number of Episodes

Dragon Ball has a total of 153 episodes. The series is divided into four seasons. The first season, which covers the adventures of young Goku, has 31 episodes. The second season, which covers the Red Ribbon Army saga, has 35 episodes. The third season, which covers the Tien Shinhan saga and the King Piccolo saga, has 30 episodes. The fourth season, which covers the Piccolo Jr. saga, has 17 episodes. In addition to the original series, there are also several movies and spin-off series.

Arcs and Sagas

Dragon Ball is divided into several arcs and sagas. Each arc and saga covers a different storyline. The first arc is the Emperor Pilaf saga, which covers the search for the Dragon Balls by Goku and his friends. The second arc is the Red Ribbon Army saga, which covers the battle against the Red Ribbon Army. The third arc is the Tien Shinhan saga, which covers the 22nd World Martial Arts Tournament. The fourth arc is the King Piccolo saga, which covers the battle against King Piccolo. The final arc is the Piccolo Jr. saga, which covers the 23rd World Martial Arts Tournament.

Dragon Ball is a classic anime series that has stood the test of time. Its compelling storylines, memorable characters, and epic battles have captivated audiences around the world for decades. Whether you are a long-time fan or just discovering the series for the first time, Dragon Ball is sure to be an unforgettable experience.

Dragon Ball Z

Dragon Ball Z is the second series in the Dragon Ball franchise, following the original Dragon Ball series. It aired from 1989 to 1996 in Japan and consists of 291 episodes. In the US, it was first broadcasted in 1996 and ran until 2003, with some episodes being heavily edited due to violence and sexual references.

Number of Episodes

As mentioned, Dragon Ball Z has a total of 291 episodes. Each episode is around 23 minutes long, making for a total runtime of around 133 hours. This includes the main storyline as well as filler episodes that were added to extend the series.

Arcs and Sagas

Dragon Ball Z is divided into several arcs and sagas, each with its own storyline and set of characters. Here are the major arcs and sagas:

  • Saiyan Saga (Episodes 1-35)
  • Freeza Saga (Episodes 36-107)
  • Garlic Jr. Saga (Episodes 108-117)
  • Androids Saga (Episodes 118-194)
  • Cell Saga (Episodes 195-291)

Each arc and saga follows the journey of Goku and his friends as they battle powerful enemies and save the world. Fans of the show often debate which arc or saga is the best, but all of them have their own unique elements that make them worth watching.

If you want to watch Dragon Ball Z, there are many streaming services that offer the show, such as Funimation and Crunchyroll. It is a classic anime series that has influenced many other shows and is a must-watch for any anime fan.

Dragon Ball GT

Overview: Dragon Ball GT is the third anime series of the Dragon Ball franchise and it was produced by Toei Animation. The series aired in Japan from 1996 to 1997 and it consists of 64 episodes. Unlike its predecessor, Dragon Ball Z, GT was not based on the manga series written by Akira Toriyama. In fact, Toriyama was only minimally involved in the development of the series, providing the character designs and some basic plot concepts.

Number of Episodes: As mentioned earlier, Dragon Ball GT has a total of 64 episodes. The series was divided into four story arcs:

  • Baby arc (Episodes 1-22)
  • Super 17 arc (Episodes 27-47)
  • Shadow Dragon arc (Episodes 48-63)
  • Special one-hour TV movie (Episode 64)

Arcs and Sagas: Each story arc in Dragon Ball GT is made up of a number of sagas. In the Baby arc, there are three sagas:

  • Black Star Dragon Ball Saga (Episodes 1-13)
  • Baby Saga (Episodes 14-22)
  • Super 17 Saga (Episodes 23-25)

In the Super 17 arc, there are also three sagas:

  • Super 17 Saga (Episodes 27-34)
  • Shadow Dragon Saga (Episodes 35-41)
  • Ultimate Android Saga (Episodes 42-47)

The Shadow Dragon arc comprises of seven separate sagas, each featuring a different Shadow Dragon:

  • Shadow Dragon Saga (Episodes 48-52)
  • Lost Episode Saga (Episodes 53)
  • Super Saiyan 4 Vegeta Saga (Episodes 54-59)
  • Super 17 Saga 2 (Episodes 60-62)
  • Dragon Ball GT Grand Tour Saga (Episode 63)

Conclusion: Dragon Ball GT may not be everyone’s favorite series, but it still has a significant place in the Dragon Ball franchise. With 64 episodes and four story arcs, it is a must-watch for any Dragon Ball fan who wants to experience the entire story. If you haven’t watched it yet, give it a try and see if it lives up to your expectations!

Dragon Ball Super

Dragon Ball Super is the latest addition to the Dragon Ball franchise and it premiered in 2015. It is a direct sequel to Dragon Ball Z and it takes place after the defeat of Majin Buu. The series was produced by Toei Animation and it was supervised by the original creator, Akira Toriyama.

Number of Episodes

Dragon Ball Super has a total of 131 episodes. The series aired from July 5, 2015, to March 25, 2018. The episodes were broadcasted on Fuji TV in Japan and on Adult Swim’s Toonami block in the United States.

Arcs and Sagas

Dragon Ball Super is divided into several arcs and sagas:

  • God of Destruction Beerus Saga: This saga introduces the God of Destruction Beerus and his attendant Whis. The saga covers episodes 1 to 14.
  • Golden Frieza Saga: This saga features the return of Frieza and his transformation into Golden Frieza. The saga covers episodes 15 to 27.
  • Universe 6 Saga: This saga introduces the concept of a multiverse and it features the Universe 6 vs Universe 7 tournament. The saga covers episodes 28 to 46.
  • Future Trunks Saga: This saga features the return of Future Trunks and his fight against Goku Black and Zamasu. The saga covers episodes 47 to 76.
  • Universe Survival Saga: This saga features the Tournament of Power, a battle between eight universes. The saga covers episodes 77 to 131.

Each arc and saga has its own unique story and characters. They are all connected and they contribute to the overall narrative of Dragon Ball Super.


In conclusion, Dragon Ball has 153 episodes, and Dragon Ball Z has 291 episodes. Dragon Ball GT has 64 episodes, and Dragon Ball Super has 131 episodes.

Each series within the Dragon Ball franchise has its own unique storyline and characters, making it a beloved anime series for many fans across the world.

Whether you’re a long-time fan or just starting, there’s plenty of Dragon Ball content to keep you entertained for hours on end.

Similar Posts